Annual Meeting Awards

Paul LoGerfo Research Awards:

James Wu, MD
UCLA David Geffen School of Medicine
"Liquid Biopsy for Thyroid Cancer: Enumeration and Molecular Profiling of Thyroid-derived Extracellular Vesicles"

Taylor C Brown, MD, MHS
Washington University in St. Louis and John Cochran VA
"Credentialing Human DNA Polymerase Theta (POLQ) as a Novel Therapeutic Target in Aggressive Thyroid Cancer"


ThyCa: Thyroid Cancer Survivors' Association Award for Thyroid Cancer Research:

Irene M Min, Ph.D.
Weill Medical College of Cornell University
"Investigation of CSPG4 Function and Targeting using Metastatic Thyroid Cancer Models Applicant"


Jon Van Heerden Award for Best Paper:

Reid McCallister
University of Michigan
"Multi-genomic analysis of 243 adrenocortical cancer patient tumors identifies a novel microRNA biomarker target (miRNA 335-5p) strongly associated with poor survival"


Barbara Kinder Award for Best Paper:

Kristen Limbach
City of Hope
"Baicalein activates AMPK, inhabits the mammalian target of rapamycin, and exhibits antiproliferative effects in pancreatic neuroendocrine tumors in vitro and in vivo"

Ed Kaplan Award for Best Clinical Poster:

Sara Ginzberg, MD
Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
"Disparities in Appropriate Thyroid Cancer Treatment, Before and After the Release of the 2015 American Thyroid Association Guidelines"


Geoffrey Thompson Award for Best Basic Science Poster:

Omair Shariq, MD
University of Oxford
"Epigenetic targeting of bromodomain and extra-terminal domain proteins as a novel therapy for pancreatic neuroendocrine tumors"


Best Interesting Case:

John Sun, MD
Oregon Health & Science University
"Hypoglycemia - A Diagnostic Dilemma"