University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center



University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

Duration of Fellowship:

1 year 

Number of Available Fellowship Positions:


Program Director:
Program Director Email:

Alan Dackiw, MD, PhD, MBA, FACS
[email protected]

Secondary Contact Name:
Secondary Contact Title:
Secondary Contact Email:

Gabby Hernandez
Division Administrator
[email protected]


1801 Inwood Road
Dallas, Texas

Phone: (214) 645-8111
Fax: (214) 645-8161

Objectives of the Program:

Endocrine surgery has a longstanding, rich tradition in the Department of Surgery at UT Southwestern Medical Center. Dr. William H. Snyder, III, started the endocrine surgery practice at UTSW in 1971, building a legacy of high-quality care until his death in 2010. Twenty years later, the practice has its own division and employs 5 fellowship-trained endocrine surgeons in North Texas, representing fellowship training from the University of Wisconsin, University of Michigan, Mayo Clinic, UCSF, Harvard/Brigham & Women’s, MD Anderson, and Johns Hopkins.

The objective of the William H. Snyder Endocrine Surgery Fellowship is to train future leaders in the field of endocrine surgery who can confidently manage the breadth and depth of simple and complex diseases of the thyroid, parathyroid, and adrenal glands. These principles will be taught in a multidisciplinary university setting.

Highlights of the Fellowship:

The Division of Endocrine Surgery employs 5 endocrine surgeons (Dr. Shelby Holt, Dr. Sarah Oltmann, Dr. Alan Dackiw, Dr. Ana Islam and Dr. Ankeeta Mehta) and performs over 1,000 endocrine operations annually and growing. The fellows will be exposed to the full scope of endocrine surgical diseases across our 3 clinical sites, which provide exposure to complex referrals and re-operations (William P. Clements Jr. University Hospital), county hospital population (Parkland Memorial Hospital), and community-based practice (UT Southwestern Frisco). The fellows will become well-versed in work-up and management of endocrine disease in weekly clinics with each of the Faculty and will have the opportunity to become proficient in performing head and neck ultrasounds, fine-needle aspiration biopsies, and flexible laryngoscopies. We anticipate fellows to complete between 350-400 routine and complex cases with extensive exposure in thyroidectomy for both benign and malignant disease (~200), central and lateral neck dissections (~30), parathyroidectomy (~150), and laparoscopic/ robotic/ open adrenalectomy (~35), with a substantial number of re-operative cases. Additionally, the fellow will develop expertise in minimally-invasive approaches, use of intra-operative PTH, and intra-operative laryngeal nerve monitoring.

The endocrine surgery division is an excellent example of a multidisciplinary practice. The group collaborates with dedicated specialists in medical endocrinology, mineral metabolism, radiology and nuclear imaging, and endocrine pathology, with whom the fellow will rotate, to care for a breadth of disorders of the thyroid, parathyroid, adrenal, and neuroendocrine pancreas. An example of this collaborative effort is the Multidisciplinary Endocrine Tumor Clinic at Parkland, in which the fellow is expected to participate.



In addition to collaborative clinical care, the division leads campus-wide educational conferences, including a bi-monthly thyroid cancer conference alternating with an adrenal tumor conference in which the fellow is expected to present. The monthly divisional morbidity and mortality conference also includes a lecture series featuring invited speakers from radiology, pathology, mineral metabolism, laryngology, and urology to help us better understand, lean from, and avoid future complications using perspectives from related fields.


The Bartolucci visiting professor lecture in endocrine surgery takes place every fall, with the fellow inviting a leader in the field of endocrine surgery of his/her choice. Previous speakers have included Dr. Thomas Fahey (NYU), Dr. Tobias Carling (Yale), Dr. Rebecca Sippel (UW), Dr. Electron Kebebew (Stanford), Dr. Barbra Miller(OSU) and Dr. Michael Yeh (UCLA).



The fellow is expected to submit an abstract to AAES and produce at least one manuscript during the year. Access to a robust clinical database, statisticians, and data collection assistance will be provided.

International Medical Graduates:

International medical graduates may apply, but they must be eligible to obtain a full Texas medical license, and their medical school must be in the substantial equivalence list listed on the Texas Medical Board website.

Special Considerations:

The candidate must be eligible for and obtain a Texas medical license and DEA license prior to beginning the fellowship. The fellow will be required to apply for privileges at the Clements University Hospital and Parkland Memorial Hospital, and Texas Health Resources Frisco.

Program Website for More Information:

Program Twitter:


Program Facebook:


Previous Fellows:

2017-2018: James Davis, MD
2018-2019: Ana Islam, MD
2019-2020: Sarah Mitchell, MD
2020-2021: Ankeeta Mehta, DO
2021-2022: Mohamad Sidani, MD

Current fellow: Emily Steen, MD