University of Calgary



University of Calgary

Duration of Fellowship:

1 year with possible 2nd year to complete the Royal College of Canada Surgical Oncology accredited program.

Number of Available Fellowship Positions:


Program Director:
Program Director Email:

Adrian Harvey, MD
[email protected]

Secondary Contact Name:
Secondary Contact Title:
Secondary Contact Email:

Bernice Mina-Buna
Program Coordinator, Office of Surgical Fellowship Program
[email protected]


Office of Surgical Fellowship Program
Foothills Medical Centre
North Tower, 7th Floor, Rm 733
1403 29 Street NW
Calgary, Alberta, T2N 2T9, Canada
Phone: 403 944 5466
Fax: 403 944 4301

Objectives of the Program:

To provide advanced training in the field of endocrine surgery including: parathyroid, thyroid, adrenal pancreatic, and GI neuroendocrine tumors. This includes comprehensive care of the endocrine surgical patients including pathophysiology of these diseases, work up, surgical indications, technical surgical skills, multidisciplinary care and follow-up.

This program is dedicated to meeting the AAES objectives in Endocrine Surgery. We endeavor to provide an environment that fosters both education and research in the field of Endocrine Surgery, and provides the ground work for a career in academic surgery. Upon completion the candidate will be competent in providing advanced care in the field of Endocrine Surgery at their home institution.

The Fellow will be expected to participate in research resulting in at least one publishable work by completion of the fellowship.

Highlights of the Fellowship:

The core Endocrine Surgery services compromises of 3 fellowship trained Endocrine Surgeons (Dr. J Pasieka, Dr. A Harvey and Dr. C Yeo)

Surgical Cases: The candidate will be surgically involved in at least:
90-110 thyroid cases (including central & lateral neck dissection)
80-100 parathyroid cases
20-40 Adrenal cases
10-30 GNET/PNET cases

Clinics: In addition to regular dedicated endocrine surgery clinics fellows will attend multidisciplinary Neuroendocrine Tumor and Hereditary Neuroendocrine clinics

Tumor Boards: Fellows will attend and participate in multidisciplinary tumor boards for Thyroid Cancer and Neuroendocrine Tumors.

Clinical experiences in Pathology, Radiology and Endocrinology will be organized within the one year fellowship

Educational Rounds: Fellows will attend and participate in: Weekly Surgical Oncology/Endocrine Rounds as well as General Surgery M&M rounds.

Research: Basics of research course will be provided by the Office of Surgery Fellowship. Fellows will participate in research. Attendance at Endocrine Surgery University will be funded. Fellows will be expected to attend the AAES annual meeting. Funding for conference presentations will provided.

Calgary is a vibrant city with an underrated culinary scene. The Rocky Mountains are less than an hour away making this a prime location for outdoor enthusiasts!

International Medical Graduates:

Yes, must meet eligibility requirements and special considerations below.

Fellow must be American Board of Surgery eligible or certified:


Fellow must obtain a full (unrestricted) state license:

No - Provincial educational license (Alberta)

Special Considerations:

Must have completed, or be completing, a Royal College of Physicians & Surgeons of Canada (or the equivalent) accredited residency program in General Surgery.

Must be eligible for an Educational or Independent license to practice medicine by the College of Physicians & Surgeons of Alberta (CPSA).

Prospective Fellows must be proficient in spoken and written English. If language of medical school is not English: Unless exempt, candidates need to complete IELTS (International English Language Testing System) academic version within 24 months before submitting their application to CPSA.

Program Website for More Information:

For more information please refer to the Office of Surgical Fellowship, Cumming School of Medicine website at:

Program Twitter:


Program Facebook:


Previous Fellows:

Dr. Mark Sywak 2000-2002 - Sydney, Australia
[email protected]

Dr. Juan Chavez 2003-2004 - Mexico City

Dr. Anthony Chambers 2007-2009 - Sydney Australia

Dr Laura Chin-Lenn 2011-2013 - Melbourne, Australia
[email protected]

Dr. Raj Patel 2013-2014 - Auckland, NZ
[email protected]

Dr. Johanna Basa 2014-2015 - California, USA
[email protected]

Dr. Jane Mills 2017-2018 – Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
[email protected]

Dr. Steven Craig 2018-2019 – Milton, NSW, Australia
[email protected]

Dr. Caitlin Yeo 2019-2020 – Calgary, Alberta
[email protected]

Dr. Elizabeth Tacl 2020-2021 – Current Fellow
[email protected]